Just a small town boy…

Ever wondered what it’s like to live in a town which sits right next to the shore?

I’ve lived by the sea nearly my whole life. Don’t get me wrong, I love it. The beach in my home town, Sheerness, is something I can’t fault. Despite the town’s many flaws, it can be quite elegant in the summer.

wp-1463093609377.jpg
Sheerness at dawn. [Cameron Jull, 29th April 2016]
Everyone says they hate the place where they grew up. I’m guilty of it. I have a love-hate relationship with this town which so interestingly has a lot of history behind it. If you look out to sea carefully, you’ll be able to see the wreck of the SS Richard Montgomery, and the various different buildings scattered in Southend-On-Sea. Fun, right? Sometimes. I might complain a lot about it, but this is home to me and it will always be. I’m not particularly proud of where I live, but come on, who actually wants to stay in the same place for the rest of their lives? Definitely not me.

When the sky is blue and there isn’t a cloud in sight, it makes the town look like a paradise. A rare sight considering this is Britain we’re talking about. I’ve walked across the promenade many times by myself and it’s such a great place to escape to. I consider it my ‘happy place’ and I always have.

There’s just something about the tranquillity of the beach; the high waves crashing graciously against the shore, and the local townspeople walking their dogs or cycling between the two white chalky lines. Sometimes, I’m tempted to just pick up a book and go there to read, but naturally, I don’t get round to actually doing it.

In August every year, Sheerness often holds a carnival and fair that nearly everyone enjoys. During the evening, fireworks are lit on the beach and you can see the protruding colours pour into the sky, illuminating the water below. It’s a wonderful sight.

Even though there isn’t much to do here and my constant complaints about the boredom, it’s still home. It always will be, and a part of me will always belong to the sea.

wp-1463093594143.jpg
Sheerness beach looking out to Southend-On-Sea, Essex. [Cameron Jull, 29th April 2016]
Leave a Reply

